Dear Jude: Oh, your beautiful heart

Dear Jude, it has always been one of my dearest wishes that you learn to care for and take care of those around you. It warms my heart when you identify the feelings of others as best you can (Mommy sad? Friend cry. Daddy tired.), especially when you try to fix it (i love it when you try to sing me the lullabies I sing to you). And yesterday, when it was very cold, I zipped you into your jacket, which you agreed was “waaaaarm”. That you took it off shortly after to help out a friend that was “Cold, mommy” was just too sweet. The fact that the friend was your tiny toy car? Well, that only took the edge of pride off a teeeeensy bit. Watching you carefully bundle 3 inches of plastic car very tenderly into the depths of your sweater still made me smile. Your heart is still coming along beautifully, my darling love. Just beautifully….

Leave a Reply

