Dear Jude: Bath time

Dear Jude, I love that you love your little blue bath tub. I love that once you’ve forgiven me for washing your hair, you continue to enjoy splashing about in the water, and drowning all the bath toys I put there for company. I love your scrunchy face that manages to squeeze all the light in the world into a single gap toothed grin, as you catch me watching u with a smile soppier than the 2 rags required to get you clean some days. Can I interrupt this sentimental moment to just ask that in the future you remember that daily baths/showers are not optional, but mandatory for any child of mine. As you grow, please remember that expensive cologne and clean clothes should only ever be used as a SUPPORT to- and NOT a replacement for- an honest to goodness, real soap involved, scrub behind the ears bath. EVERY. DAY. And if you ever need it, I’ll probably still have a bottle of your baby bubble bath anyways. You may borrow. Please return. Chances are, I sniff it occasionally and remember these blue baby bath days….

Leave a Reply

