Dear Rich (I heart my husband)

I don’t think I tell my husband enough that I love him.

And I have all kinds of love for my husband.

Years before we were ever even a couple we were friends. In Spanish, they say “somos muy amigos”- quite literally ‘we’re very friends’ and I think that says it much better than the ‘good-, better-, best- friends’ construct of English. Very friends is what we were.

As my friend, he saw me through melt downs and break downs and the generally shameful spectacles I routinely made of myself.

As my boyfriend, he saw me…well…. through melt downs and break downs and the generally shameful spectacles I routinely made of myself. Plus he had to hold my hand and acknowledge my girlfriend-ness even when I wore my special array of Christmas socks out in public. He denied my multiple attempts to break up with him, and simply kept on being my boyfriend no matter what I said. Just like that.

As my husband, he’s pretty much signed up for a lifetime of that on repeat. And I’ve done the same. And already we’ve had to deal with some pretty heavy issues, which knock the wind out of us for a second, but somehow…some magical how, we find the love, we find the laughter and we remember that we’re in this for the long haul.

Sharing baby-duty helps, and as a parent, I have the equalest possible partner barring breastfeeding. Baths, midnight feedings, diaper duty, walking, taking him out on weekends so that Mama can get some blissful rest and me-time….this list could go on and on. I don’t take a single second of it for granted, and nothing warms my heart like watching my two boys together. That’s right. Two.

“Dear Jude” is all over the interwebs (hi, baby!), but he is only HALF of my beautiful life. I don’t say it enough, but no doubt about it ‘Dear Richie’ is the other.

And as life rolls on, and the pounds pack on (OR MELT OFF, SAYS MY GYM MEMBERSHIP); as the bills pile up, and the kids move out; as bones creak and teeth shift (can you thay ‘thexy’?); as love travels through its various stages, please remember my darling that before we were Mr & Mrs, we always, always were, and always, always will be “very friends”.

I love you, babe 

Leave a Reply

